The truth about Lena Dunham’s engagement rumours


In other wedding news, Lena Dunham has addressed speculation that she’s engaged to boyfriend Jack Antonoff.

She was pictured wearing a stack of rings on her engagement finger, thus prompting the world (well, Girls fans at least) to ponder whether or not she is soon to marry.

But it turns out the rings are not an indication of impending nuptials, rather they’re a symbol of friendship between Dunham and her friend and Girls co-executive producer Jenni Konner.

“We have friendship rings,” Konner told People. “They’re a stack of three. We both wear them on that finger for some reason – that’s the finger they fit on – and those are our friendship rings.

“When they announced that she was wearing an engagement ring, I was like, ‘Yeah, to me!'”

Dunham added that she no one ever takes any notice of the diamond ring Antonoff gave her, which she wears on her right hand.

“It’s funny, I have a ring that my boyfriend gave me that I wear on my right hand, and like, clearly nobody gives a s**t about – it’s like a diamond!” she said. “And everybody was like, ‘Let’s ignore that diamond and focus on this stack of three rings.’ I definitely had a feeling, like, ‘Slow news day, dudes?'”

The actress, writer and director also revealed that the speculation had caused some confusion among Antonoff’s family.

“My boyfriend … was like, ‘My mom called asking if we’re engaged?’ She has a Google Alert on him,” Dunham explained. 

And we can also expect a more imaginative proposal from Dunham and Antonoff when the time comes.

“I also just want to say, if we’re going to get engaged, we would be more creative than to do it on New Year’s Eve,” “We don’t want to be basic.” 

Leave a Reply

